To turn Track changes on:

You can easily make and view tracked changes and comments while you work in a document. By default, Microsoft Office Word 2007 uses balloons to display deletions, comments, formatting changes, and content that has moved. If you want to see all your changes inline, you can change settings so that tracked changes and comments display the way you want.

Track changes with balloons

Balloons (1) show formatting changes, comments, and deletions.

Note: To prevent you from inadvertently distributing documents that contain tracked changes and comments, Word displays tracked changes and comments by default. Final Showing Markup is the default option in the Display for Review box.

  1. Open the document that you want to revise.
  2. On the Review tab, in the Tracking group, click the Track Changes button. The Track changes button becomes highlighted, as shown in the following figure.Track Changes button turned on
  3. Optional. Add a track changes indicator to the status bar. Right-click the status bar, and click Track Changes. Click the Track Changes indicator on the status bar to turn on or turn off track changes.Track changes indicator
  4. Make the changes that you want by inserting, deleting, moving, or formatting text or graphics. You can also add comments.

Note: If you use change tracking and then save your document as a Web page (.htm or .html), tracked changes will appear on your Web page.

To turn Track changes off:

  • On the Review tab, in the Tracking group, click the Track Changes button.The Track Changes button is no longer highlighted, as shown in the following image.Word Ribbon Image

If you customized the status bar to include a track changes indicator, clicking Track Changes in the Tracking group will also turn off the indicator in the status bar.

Note: Turning off change tracking does not eliminate the tracked changes in your document. To ensure that there are no more tracked changes in your document, be sure that all changes are showing, and then use the Accept or Reject commands for each change in the document.

Be aware that there are various ways to hide tracked changes or comments, but all the changes that were made while the Track Changes feature was turned on and all the comments that were inserted remain part of the document until they are accepted or rejected (or, in the case of comments, deleted).

Hiding tracked changes—for example, under Show Markup, clearing the check mark for Insertions and Deletions—doesn’t delete existing tracked changes or comments from the document. Instead, hiding tracked changes enables you to view the document without having to wade through crossed-out text, underlining, and balloons.

Credits: Microsoft

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *